Merc 470

dswi

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I am wondering...What is so wrong with the Merc 470??
I notice that LOTS of people really hate this motor.
I met 1 guy who loves them in Columbia, SC...As long as water didn't flood them on the outside...(in a boat, yea right).

I am considering buying a first boat and with my limited budget I have found several with this engine...

I am an air compressor mechanic for a living (15 years) and haven't yet found that much that I can't do....
Never had a run at marine engines though...

Advice???
Thanks
Darrin

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Merc 470

I met 1 guy who loves them in Columbia, SC...As long as water didn't flood them on the outside...(in a boat, yea right).

I am considering buying a first boat and with my limited budget I have found several with this engine...

I am an air compressor mechanic for a living (15 years) and haven't yet found that much that I can't do....

Advice???
Thanks
Darrin

Ayuh,.... Welcome Aboard,.... Do a search in this forum for "470 Merc".....

After you've been readin' for a few Days,...
Ya oughta be able to understand that it's an Obsolete motor...

If yer a Newbie, lookin' for a boat,...
If ya buy Anything with an OMC drive, or Anything other than Chevy based power,....
Yer shootin' yerself in the foot, in the long run...

Boats with OMCs, or 470s are Cheap, for Very Good Reasons...

stonyloam

Vice Admiral