Long casting fishing Rod and reel

GodsBeast

Chief Petty Officer
When I was young, my Dad never took me fishing, he was not good at it. He took me hunting and other activities, though. So I have no real fishing knowledge, except for hints and tips here and there from others. I just recently purchased a pontoon boat, and I inherited my Grandpa's Ambass. 5000, and his rod. I have had that thing professionally reworked, and use it, he would want it used, not just put up for a keepsake. <br /><br />Although I practice casting, (I guess that is what you'd call it, I'm not catching any fish) while the girls are tanning. I am trying to find a rod and reel, that I can get some distance, out of casting some lightweight tackle. I have a friend, that seems to know A WHOLE LOT about fly cast fishing, and said this is what I need to get into, but his time seems to be limited in getting with me to go shopping for a good reasonable Rod and Reel. I have another friend that prefers an open flip bail style rod and reel, and said this, next to fly rod and reel, would be the next best system of casting light-weight lures. I have a couple of Zebco's a 357, and 38 bullet, and one of the 22's ( I have not seen the 22 lately) but I broke the reel holder on the rod the 38 was on, and lost the end cover overboard on the 357, when replacing string. I put the 38 reel on the rod the 357 was on, so I could finish out the day, using two rods and reels. The wife went and got her fishing license today, and wants to start fishing sometimes also. So I figure it is Rod and Reel buying time. <br /><br />Last week I was in Sports Academy and was going to buy an open flip bail combo, but there were just so many to choose from, and I have no idea of the different models quality. I am a guy that prefers to buy quality equipment, Something that will last, but do not want to end up getting talked into buying something, with every feature under the sun, that never gets used, if you know what I mean! I also d