is this hull repairable?

cwlson

Petty Officer 3rd Class
So long story short this boat/trailer came unhooked and hit a telephone pole at approximately 20mph or so. My question is it repairable/worth fixing? It's an older whaler style boat and I love the layout of the hull and would like to try to fix it if it's not a lost cause . I have experience with fiberglass I'm no professional by any means but have worked with it quite a bit in the past but haven't worked with it on boats much and have never tackled a project like this before. What do you guys think? Fix it or chop it up and truck it to the dump

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
If it were me I think I would have to pass on trying to fix it .. It probably could be fixed if you had a real good glass lay up schedule from a professional .
On one of your other p/b pics there is a very large metal plate on the transom . This is telling me ya got issues there also ..

jbcurt00

Staff member
I wouldn't even cut it up, just haul it to the dump ;)

LOTS a work in rebuilding 1 that hasn't sustained a 20mph hit to a telephone pole..........

cwlson

Petty Officer 3rd Class
The plates were installed by the previous owner because he had a long shaft motor and built up the transom to make it work

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
Ok that explains the transom plate ... Sure is a shame .. Looks like a great little fishing boat if it weren't for the damage ..

cwlson

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I wouldn't even cut it up, just haul it to the dump ;)

LOTS a work in rebuilding 1 that hasn't sustained a 20mph hit to a telephone pole..........

That was my thought but people are telling me to fix it I don't think it's fixable. I would have to chop it up to put it in my truck cause the trailer is pretty well jacked up as well

PatinIdaho

Chief Petty Officer
If i owned it free and clear i would attempt the repair VS buying something else. It will be some work but it's fiberglass its fixable

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral