Inside cabin plywood

FrankyB

Seaman
Hi, newbie here with recently purchased 89 Four Winns 315 vista. I'm gutting the cabin and wanting to rebuild. Can marine grade plywood be used or is their toxic risk, I'm not wanting to lay on a bed area that may have toxic risk like pressurized lumber if there are any similarities.
Second question-are there better hardwood veneers than others to use inside the cabin (maple vs cherry)
Thanks!
Frank

Ned L

Commander
No problem with 'marine" plywood for interior work, .... other than why go to the expense. If painting, an ACX is fine. If you are planning on finishing it bright, then a veneer of your choice.

gm280

Supreme Mariner
If there is any chance of the plywood getting wet, then you have to use either marine grade or an exterior grade plywood. Don't use any quality veneer type plywood because they are not exterior glued and if it ever gets wet or has a high humidity probability, it will delaminate. So the plywood you use has to be exterior glued. JMHO

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
All Household "Cabinet Grade" veneered plywood uses standard glues in their laminations and as gm280 states is not the best choice for "Bright Work" paneling for boats. You can use some sealers and oil stains to to greatly alleviate some of the inherent dangers but depending on the "Wet" conditions of your boat, over time you could still have issues. All Ext. Grade Plywoods use Waterproof glue in their laminations and as Ned L suggests this makes them a much better choice but...sadly they don't come with a nice finish that you want to leave natural. You can buy veneer to finish them with but that can be quite tedious to say the least. So if you provide more specific details we can/will guide you to the best choice.;)

FrankyB

Seaman