How to handle wakes from large boats...

koko1

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have been boating all my life and have owned my own boat for 4 years now. 3 of them was a older bass tracker and I just got a Tahoe about a month ago.. Have taken it out a few times and really like it. Well yesterday my girlfriend, some friends, and I were out on the lake just after a little rain storm passed through. Great conditions, very calm lake and I decided to open it up a little since the previous times the water was a little rough. I was going along in between 40-45 when we came up on a very large boat that was going the opposite way about 100 yards away. At 1st the wake looked like a normal size wake but it grew as it came closer, I trimmed down and throttled back to around 25-30... As I did that we approached what was really monster wake waves. When we went over the 1st my hand was still on the throttle and as we slammed back down it hit the throttle forward again but luckily I was able to pull it back.... My question is has anyone else encountered any wakes that looked normal but grew to monsters as the approached? What did you do and what did you learn from it? I was always taught to drive into a wake at a 45 degree angle but in this instance the wake was up on me so fast I probably hit it at a 20 degree angle which probably is why we got bounced around the boat pretty bad... Luckily no one got hurt, just rattled and the boat was not hurt.

tkrfxr

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: How to handle wakes from large boats...

The bigger the boat, the bigger the wake, and the farther away from the boat, the lesser the effect on your boat...but you must slow down to a reasonable speed. 45 degrees is reasonable for modest wakes, though bigger ones will still shake you down.

If you see the wave getting bigger, sometimes it's better to steer away from it and catch it when it gets smaller, as it runs out of energy.

koko1

Petty Officer 3rd Class