How lose should u-joints be

choochooharley

Petty Officer 2nd Class
How lose should the u-joints on the drive shaft be? There was no slop or side to side action that i could se but they are very lose as in there is no stiffness when moveing them around. When i take the outdrive out they flop around and when I move them around by hand they move real easily and there is no resistance,.

coheej

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: How lose should u-joints be

There should be NO resistance.

Squab

Petty Officer 2nd Class

They should be NO resistance. I agree as long as there is No rust your fine

choochooharley

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Ok thanks i knew there should be no resistance but was just worried how little is too little i guess

JetBote

Seaman

No resistance is good at any level, just as long as you don't have slop inside the caps side to side or fore/aft.

choochooharley

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Nope there was none of that. I am fairly new to the boating world and was just tring to see if it is too loose. I have not really a vibration but more of a random shake in the outdrive and only at idle. The whole outdrive moves kinda side to side and its not constant it only does it once in a while and only at idle never at faster than idle.

Fishermark

Vice Admiral

Actually, as the u joints wear, they will get a little more "floppy" for the lack of a better description. Even to the point that it makes putting the outdrive back on a challenge. When you see and feel the difference between new u joints and how they feel and act, versus old ones, you can appreciate the difference.

Not suggesting you necessarily need to replace yours, but when various ones say there should be no resistance - I think they are describing something different.

choochooharley

Petty Officer 2nd Class

That is what my concern was. I am wondering if the no resistance means no catches?

ziggy

Admiral

when i have a question like this, my first step is to see what the s/m says...