How did you get into boating?

thomsonr

Cadet
Just curious, just took my boat of the water here in Canada, NB. I had never owned a boat before this summer or never even been in anything except a ferry. Bought a 17' bowrider with 180hp and had a great amount of fun except for my lack of experience. At the start of the summer I was putting it in and out of the water at a local ramp until one day I had a mechanical problem and was towed into the local marina. Once I got in there I loved the atmosphere and bought a berth immediately. As a beginner I was amazed at the info, advice and friendship offered. I'll be back next summer.

When I bought this boat it seemed huge. In fact the owner was somewhat reluctant to sell it to me as I had no experience. Once it was in the Marina and after a few rides my perception changed. It seems pretty small now but I plan on waiting a few years to get more experience before I move to a bigger boat.

I guess I'm curious about how you started out and did you move on to bigger boats once you gained more experience.

Honestly, I'm hooked and can't wait for next summer!

paultjohnson

Lieutenant Commander
Re: How did you get into boating?

Welcome to the wonderful world of boating ! For the most part its one big happy family. With some exceptions of course, those exceptions are most apparent at boat launches I M O:mad: I live in Mn land of 10,ooo lakes [ actually more like 15,000 but who's counting :p] Gotta have a boat. I believe per capita Mn has one of the highest rates of boat ownership. Had friends w boats and got into water skiing etc. Bought a boat as a 30th Bday present 4 myself. Quit smoking cigs at the same time to finance it. Still have it and I just turned 49:D:cool:

Rumley

Petty Officer 2nd Class