HorseNeck Clam Help!

ngt

Master Chief Petty Officer
So I got some nice good sized horseneck clams the other day. I was told to soak them in ice water to get sand out (not sure why since I cut them up and wash them alive anyways). I get them out to clean them and only one has a brownish neck. The others are a whitish light tan color. This is my first time with this and I start cleaning. Everything is easy until I get to the skin on the necks. The darker brown one peels off easily. The lighter ones are so damn slimy and would not peel off for anything. Ended up not being able to eat the necks on a bunch of them because of this. I hate wasting things I catch, so what did I do wrong?

Was it the fresh water I put them in on the way home from the beach?

Was it the ice water I soaked them in for hours? (if that was it, why did it only effect some?)

Were some of the clams undergrown? Not ready to eat?

Anyone seen this? Know what I'm talking about? Having a tough time finding answers.

angus63

Captain
Re: HorseNeck Clam Help!

I never ever use fresh water with clams. Also never allow clams to be submerged in a cooler of ice. Hi Temp, fresh water and salinity extremes have adverse affects on their edibility. If they open easy, do not eat. This is what I follow for east coast hard clams. Never harvested horseneck type.

After checking out some prep videos for geoducks, some do recommend a freshwater soak. Might be a whole different animal then I am used to.

Please consult with someone more familiar than I am with these odd creatures.

Last edited:

ngt

I never ever use fresh water with clams. Also never allow clams to be submerged in a cooler of ice. Hi Temp, fresh water and salinity extremes have adverse affects on their edibility. If they open easy, do not eat. This is what I follow for east coast hard clams. Never harvested horseneck type.