First boat questions

KJMach

Cadet
In the process of buying my first boat. I test drove it and it runs great. Its a 1993 sea ray 170 17' with a 3.0l mercruiser. The interior looks just about perfect and original. 3 owners all that knew eachother. Im a diesel tech by trade, so i gave it a pretty good look engine wise. Started great cold and after a hot soak. Has that slight hesitation when plaining off cold like it seems all 3.0l do ive been in. Its got covers and a trailer and ive talked him down to $3900. Anything to look for or suggestions would really help. He seems like a straight shooter. Has a stainless 3 prop, got about 37-38mph out of it with 2 guys and 3/4 tank gas. Noticed the tach is kinda intermittant, works ok then just drifts off. Im guessing maybe corossion. Floor feels solid as well. Thanks for any help guys! Nice to be back!

NOTE DOUBLE POST SORRY!

Last edited:

KJMach

Cadet
First boat need some advice

In the process of buying my first boat. I test drove it and it runs great. Its a 1993 sea ray 170 17' with a 3.0l mercruiser. The interior looks just about perfect and original. 3 owners all that knew eachother. Im a diesel tech by trade, so i gave it a pretty good look engine wise. Started great cold and after a hot soak. Has that slight hesitation when plaining off cold like it seems all 3.0l do ive been in. Its got covers and a trailer and ive talked him down to $3900. Anything to look for or suggestions would really help. He seems like a straight shooter. Has a stainless 3 prop, got about 37-38mph out of it with 2 guys and 3/4 tank gas. Noticed the tach is kinda intermittant, works ok then just drifts off. Im guessing maybe corossion. Floor feels solid as well. Thanks for any help guys! Nice to be back!

skydiveD30571

Lieutenant Junior Grade