Evenrude 225 tank testing questions

jurgenscraft

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hello all,
Why when testing a motor in a test tank with the gearbox in neutral ,the motor runs rough when cold and then improves as it warms up,but does not run as well as it would when under load eg: pushing the boat through the water at 3500/4500rpm.
regards:
William

dono16

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Evenrude 225 tank testing questions

Jgergen, ,, first most all motors no matter what theyre in car , boat , whatever, they will run smoother and better when theyre a lil warmed up... for your problems under load , or on the boat, first is your boat underpowered , ok never mind you said 225!!!!!!!!for the size, is your engine older, the seals and or rings could be bad or getting bad and that would make you loose power. that will loose copresion. :power" Im assuming you have 4 strokes, which is more complex , oil pressure, fuel,,if its EFI ,,i am by no means an expert on an engine like yours but if you narrow your question down give specific examples , model year, model #, from my experience theres some guys that can help ya here,,,,good luck to ya!!

jurgenscraft

Petty Officer 1st Class

Sorry guys.