Do you stop for School Bus or get out of way of Rescue?

mako

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I was stopped on a narrow side street for a School Bus letting a couple kids off. Then from behind me comes a Rescue with lights and sirens going. I drive a pickup so I just drove it up on the curb and the Rescue was able to pass. This is just a strange occurance and probably doesn't happen much but I figure the right thing to do is move and let the rescue pass. Even if you were issued a ticket you would have a solid argument. But if you couldn't climb the curb should you pass the Bus?

bubbakat

Captain
Re: Do you stop for School Bus or get out of way of Rescue?

as i work in law enforcement never pass the bus if you can't climb the curb let thr rescue truck find its way by. it is ilegal to pass a bus while it is off loading and the emergency truck is already going to a situation that has already happened and by passing the bus you could hit a kid and then a real good lawyer and lots of money is needed

crab bait

Captain

plus the worst..... 15 points & automatic suspention of license...

SpinnerBait_Nut

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Yes, I aggree. When in a spot like that, it is best just to sit still if you can not get out of the way safely and let the emergency vehicle go by on it's own. It would be bad if you went to pass the bus and a little one bounced out in front of you.

D

DJ

Yes, I stop and move out of the way.<br /><br />However, I find many people are just too important to be bothered with such inconveniences.<br /><br />I was on a plane the other day and while we were taxiing, a college kid (nothing wrong with college) decides he's going to get up go to the bathroom. Needless to say, once the flight attendants warned him, the passengers took over. He learned a lesson he should have learned at home.

Scoop

Lieutenant Junior Grade