Couple questions from the fiberglassing noobie

ayaresr

Seaman Apprentice
As the title states, I'm new to fiberglass work. Finally got my resto project to the point where I am beginning to work on fiberglassing new stuff in. I did a coat of resin on the plywood I am using for stringers in order to seal it before I install it and start glassing it down. So far, this seems easy enough. My only question for now (more will certainly follow as I get further along in glassing) is, does the resin usually stay tacky for a few days? Its definitely adhered to the plywood just fine, the surface of it just seems tacky after 3 days. Enough so that if I lay some pine strips down to prop it up on, they stick to it when I lift it back up. If this is normal, no biggie, I can work with it as is. I just want to make sure I'm going about this right, and that I don't need to adjust how much hardener I am using or anything. Thanks for the help all!
Ryan

88BLiner

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Couple questions from the fiberglassing noobie

Hey there ayaresr first off welcome to iboats. i was just wondering if you are using poly or epoxy. It sounds to me like you need a little more hardener either way but i don't know a lot about poly. I am working with epoxy but yes i think you should call the people who sold you the product and ask them.

ayaresr

Seaman Apprentice

I'm using poly here. See any problem moving forward with putting the wood in if its a bit tacky? Like I said, it seems to have adhered just fine to the plywood.
Ryan

Cadwelder

Lieutenant Commander

It's fine for the resin to be a little tacky for a few days...actually best, as it helps the next layer adhere well. Now with that said it should be "tacky" not wet. Just check your mix ratio on the product recommendations you have and you'll be fine.

I take it your using "unwaxed resin" correct? You should be....

ayaresr

Seaman Apprentice