convert splined pin to square pin?

fieromx3

Petty Officer 2nd Class
i have been searching and trying to find the answer. can one convert from a splined steering pin to a square steering pin/lever? what all is needed?? hopefully just the upper bushing, pin and lever at the minimum. do i need the whole gimbal housing?? i have an alpha 1 gen 1, boat is an 87' and looks like my steering pin is a spline and i want to vonvert to square for peace of mind.

DeepBlue2010

Lieutenant
What is the scope of "Peace of mind"? For example, are you worried that you will not be able to find it if you want to replace it?

Last edited:

fieromx3

Petty Officer 2nd Class
i have heard the spline teeth strip out and will cause loss of steering and depending how fast you are going it could turn out to be a bad day lol

i have my gimbal ring off and bell housing etc for rebuilding and repainting over winter time so i figured this is a good oppurtunity. though if i convert to square steering pin i will replace the gimbal ring as well so everything is nice and tight

Last edited:

stonyloam

Vice Admiral
You would of course need the ring, pin and lever. There is a difference in that the sq/sq uses bushings at the top of the pin and the sq/spl uses roller bearings. See the parts breakdown here: https://www.mercruiserparts.com/sele...?doc_nbr=99964 I am not sure if they are interchangeable. If the od of the bushings and bearings is the same it should work, or if the od the bearing surfaces of the pins is the same you should be able to do it. If your splines on the top of your current pin and lever are in good shape (not distorted or twisted) they may be OK to reuse.

OK found this http://www.mercstuff.com/gimbalringparts.htm. Seems the pins are NOT interchangeable. The upper bearing surfaces are different diameters. I would suggest taking your current parts to a Mercruiser dealer and have them check them and if sound, reuse them. Good luck.

Last edited:

Bondo

Staff member