Broken piston rings

domaotc

Seaman Apprentice
I've broken about 4 rings trying to get the pistons back in the block despite using a tool that is supposed to ease them in. This is the lower ring on an '82 9.9 evinrude. 3 questions:

1. Is there a method I should be using that someone can recommend?
2. I now have extra top rings and am wondering if I can use them in the lower groove?
3. Is there a cheap after market for rings? I hate paying $25 for a set when I only need the lower ring.

I am not a mechanic and I do not need this engine as it is just a project I thought would be a good way to learn some engine basics. If I get this engine to run, even if poorly, I will be ecstatic.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
The top ring and the bottom ring are different .---These rings do not interchange at all.---------Are you using any kind of ring compressor ?-------Automotive style ??----Start the piston into the cylinder.----I use a small screwdriver and line up the pin in the groove.---------Push on the ring till it goes in the cylinder.------Zero broken rings on 9.9 models on many motors.---And no the screwdriver does not damage the ring in any way !

Last edited:

flyingscott

Fleet Admiral
I agree stop using the ring compressor. How are the rings different never had to rebuild on of these. I am just curious as they don't list 2 different part #s for them. I have seen sets of rings say top but that is where they face in relation to the piston.

Last edited:

racerone

Supreme Mariner
The top ring has the wild taper / angle just like the V-4 crossflows.----The bottom ring does not.

flyingscott

Fleet Admiral
Alright thank you for the info. No the rings cannot be interchanged. Put the piston in like racer said by hand it is very easy you will be surprised how fast and easy it will go. The problem with the compressor is if the ring hangs up and sticks out just a little it breaks. You also run the risk of chipping/breaking the ring groove.

racerone

Supreme Mariner