Bilge Question

mikroe

Cadet
I am new to boating. I have a '89 tracker 18' fish and ski with a Johnson Gt150 motor, a bass boat basically. The question I have is the amount of water that collects in the boat. I haven't fished out of it yet due to some family issues and I want to get more familiar with it anyway. I have my live well controls set at push to fill but haven't filled them with the pumps. Yesterday the wife and I went out for about an hour and a half. I did a couple of stops and then checked to see how fast it would accelerate and plane out it did pretty well. What concerned me was how much water was in the bilge when I ran the bilge pump and when I pulled out the plug. I was told once that bass boats tend to get a lot of water in them from water coming in over the transom when they are slowed down too quickly. My concern is a leak in the hull. Any advice would be appreciated

alldodge

Staff member
I am new to boating. I have a '89 tracker 18' fish and ski with a Johnson Gt150 motor, a bass boat basically. The question I have is the amount of water that collects in the boat. I haven't fished out of it yet due to some family issues and I want to get more familiar with it anyway. I have my live well controls set at push to fill but haven't filled them with the pumps. Yesterday the wife and I went out for about an hour and a half. I did a couple of stops and then checked to see how fast it would accelerate and plane out it did pretty well. What concerned me was how much water was in the bilge when I ran the bilge pump and when I pulled out the plug. I was told once that bass boats tend to get a lot of water in them from water coming in over the transom when they are slowed down too quickly. My concern is a leak in the hull. Any advice would be appreciated

:welcome: to iboats