Balsa partial cored boat question

Antihero27

Cadet
I have a 18ft 87 ebbtide that has a partial cored hull. It basically has four, four inch strips running the lenght of the boat on both sides of the main stringers. These are rotten, and I plan to replace. What would be the best material besides balsa wood to use for this purpose. I'm trying to get away from wood in the boat. The current coring can't be more than 3/8 thick, though its hard to tell now that its mush. I'm not a engineer, but I just want a similar product that can replace it, not rot, be hand laminated with epoxy, for the cheapest cost.

Also question about transom, the rear of my boat is 82 inches across, 32 which is the transom. The transom was roughly 1 1/2 inches thick, it looked to be a total of two inches with skins and resin. The question I have has to do with the remaining 25 inches on both sides. This area makes a outward curve to the transom, the wood in it look to be 3/8 ply, or balsa, it was mush and I can't really tell. Whats a good material to make this curve thats not wood. I planned to use 3/4 Bluewater 26 coosa for the the transom, but thats not going to bend to make that curve. Any ideas how to do this without using wood?

Here is the curve, this isn't my boat but the same boat and curve.1987-ebbtide-166-campione-series-fish-n-ski-3.jpg
Also
Thank You in advance.

Last edited:

surlyjoe

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Balsa partial cored boat question

do a google for DIAB , they make all kinds of cool foam.

Antihero27

Cadet

I appreciate your reply...You mean like DIVINYCELL? I thought it wasn't compatible with epoxy. The kind that is scribed is covered in a poly scrim cloth that is only compatible with poly/vinyl resin. Also, how do I know which one to buy, strength wise?

Antihero27

Cadet

Another question and maybe someone will dibble into what type core to use in better depth for me....