Anyone tried a Turning Point Hustler prop.

Shabah 182

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I was very close to buying a Stiletto 21 inch stainless prop for my boat as a light load speed prop. At 300 dollars, a bit pricey for the 2-3 mph I will likely get out of it. Since it is winter, I have had time to surf the net comparing props. Now I am thinking that a Turning Point high performance aluminum prop might get me near the same performance as the Stiletto for 1/3 the cost. Lots of testimonials on their website....but I am sure they are biased. Anyone out there using one that can give me real life experience? I have an 18 ft bow rider with a 4.3 mercruiser turning a 19p standard aluminum at 4900 rpms and about 47 mph. Any feedback pro or con will help!

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Anyone tried a Turning Point Hustler prop.

I have no personal experience with the Hustler.I like the concept but::
They seem to have vastly varying results. To the point of some wondering if miss labeled.
When right they usually have improvement across the board. You might contact their web site
about this inconsistency see if they will allow a return if performance isn't as it should be.
If I was wanting to improve performance I would try a Hustler or Rascal after I was sure my setup was right.Before investing in a prop be sure your motor has good compression,is in excellent tune, the throttle opens all the way.Also the bottom clean and smooth.
I'm no expert on a 4.3 but in an 18 footer it seems to me it would be a little faster and run a slightly higher pitch.for max speed.Possibly speeds in the low 50s.Of course these results would depend on what boat you have.If you tell us the year model,weight, horsepower and max rpm we could tell better how well your setup is working.

Shabah 182

Petty Officer 3rd Class