Anyone know of Vanguard Barretta Canadian made?

scuttlebutt

Cadet
Hi guys nooB here my first post. Nice forum I have found all my engine answers without needing to post but I searched quite a bit and came up with nothing about Vanguard boats. I have an 87 Vanguard Barretta 16' with a 115 Evinrude and have been giving it the once over and have discovered a soft transom and I am now a little worried. I am capable and willing to fix it but would rather not waste my time if the boat is generally considered to be lousy quality. So far I have not been overly impressed with what I have had to fix. The seats were made from spruce sheeting with plated steel hinges and plated steel screws so you can imagine the condition. The vinyl and foam is still excellent however so I am redoing the wood with fir and stainless hardware and sealing up the wood. The motor well drain plugs had become sun weakened and broke off so I bought slightly larger ones and when I drilled out the transom... wet soft wood... this is what has me most worried. I am capable of fixing it but I am having second thoughts as to whether or not its worth it as I have no idea of the stringers condition so I am wondering if anyone else has experience with these boats and how you feel about the quality as this will likely sway my opinion to "abondon ship" and buy another or continue to fix what I have. Thanks guys.

BF

Lieutenant
Re: Anyone know of Vanguard Barretta Canadian made?