88 Merc XR4 150 Troubles

Nachman

Cadet
First Thanks for your help! I have been lurking and learning the ins and outs of my "new" 150 BMax thru this forum and all of you in cyberspace have great insight and words of wisdom for us all.
My issue is a hard starting, rough idle, smoky XR4 that when she's running is a power beast. She'll run and start pretty well when she's hot, but will be hard to start when I'm ready to move to a different spot on the lake. She will respond from a few push chokes but won't idle or roar to start unless I give her some extra throttle. Sometimes she dies when I move back to idle, and the whole process repeats. I can install ears in the driveway, choke a few times, crank, choke, crank, give a little throttle and she comes to life. Move to idle and die. Try again and she starts right away. Will run at idle, (a bit rough) for as long as I need (3-5 min). Turn off and she's hard to start.
I am new to HPERF outboards as my last one was a Nissan 70HP that was a jewel.
What can i do to get her to respond to my needs? She sounds floody at times and I wondered with the smoke if she is mixing oil at a bad ratio or just needs a good cleaning. Previous owner was meticulous with care and used the right additives for ethanol and such, commented that she was hard to start sometimes......All you input is greatly appreciated.
Dave

j_martin

Admiral
Re: 88 Merc XR4 150 Troubles

First Thanks for your help! I have been lurking and learning the ins and outs of my "new" 150 BMax thru this forum and all of you in cyberspace have great insight and words of wisdom for us all.