'84 3.0 wiring

will.s

Recruit
Hello. first time poster here. Glad to be here.

I have searched and searched.. I thought I had found the correct wiring diagram for my 1984 model Mercruiser 3 (SN 6806089), But I dont think I have the correct one.

My boat runs, it actually runs good except for the blown head gasket which I need to fix this winter.

I had a terrible bogging problem that occurred only when the engine got hot. After days of research, I thought the culprip was the ignition coil. I changed it out a voila< its fixed!

Im an electrician by trade, and a very detail oriented person. The wiring diagram I got shows 4 wires going to the alternator, but my engine only has 2 wires on the alternator.

I cant imagine paying for a whole book when all I need is the engine wiring diagram. Does anyone out there happen to have the wiring diagram for my 1984 model mercruiser 3.0 engine. it has the alpha 1 drive if that helps. its mounted to a 1984 model Thhundercraft, Malibu.

Thanks in advance!

alldodge

Staff member
The wiring diagram I got shows 4 wires going to the alternator, but my engine only has 2 wires on the alternator.

Don't know of any ALT which uses just two wires other then a one wire ALT that also has a ground wire. Being an 84 your motor is listed as the 140 and wiring is below. Note BIA is the standard boating industry wire colors which started in the 80's

Slide1.JPG

Slide2.JPG

Bondo

Staff member
My boat runs, it actually runs good except for the blown head gasket which I need to fix this winter.

Ayuh,..... Welcome Aboard,... If ya continue to run it, you'll probably ruin the head, 'n block,....

will.s

Recruit
Thanks Scott, for the link. I'll check it out.

Thanks Bondo, for the warm welcome, and the warning. My block was busted and I JB welded it back together after grinding and drilling. Its holding up but now I'm seeing water from the point where the head meets the block. Honestly, I'm hoping its the gasket, and not another crack..