77 115hp Evinrude has me stumped.

PNW Driver

Seaman
I'm totally new to outboards and am getting stumped. It starts and runs on the muffs but seems to "lope" a bit and occasionally miss. We took it to the ramp today and tried it out. It started and ran with the cold start lever up and warmed up. After it was warm the idle was in the 600 range. As soon as we put it in gear it dies. We left it tied up to the dock and could get it in forward and up to about 1500 rpm. If we put the throttle lever all the way forward it died.

I bought this project 6 weeks ago for 300 bucks and have done the following

Full water pump
changed out fuel for fresh( proper mix)
tore down carbs, soaked and reassembled them with full kits
new coils
new plugs (champion L77jc4)
compression test 115,120,125,125
new thermostat

Any help would be great

jjacobs007

Lieutenant
Re: 77 115hp Evinrude has me stumped.

check that your getting spark to all cylinders,then do ohms check on timer base and stator.the115 cylinder seems a lot off to the others.that cylinder might be bad.could be carb blockage or something out of synk.check the reeds too.

PNW Driver

Seaman

Ok. Sounds like I'm gonna be on a learning curve. I'm not familiar with reeds. Thanks for the reply.

cdn-pk

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Sounds like a carb adjustment and link'n'sync is required. i had a 77 140, best engine i've had.

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner

An occasional miss at idle could be a lean sneeze. That's usually a restriction (dried fuel) in one of the idle passages of the carb. (not a spark issue.) Did you clean all the carb passages with a good aerosol carb cleaner, like gumout? Each passage should be checked for flow rate, vs the same passages in the other carb. Did you pull out each jet and visually inspect them?

PNW Driver

Seaman