24ft cabin cruiser too big to tow or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jat101

Cadet
Hi All,
I am a newbie and thinking of purchasing either a Sea Ray 240 Sundancer or a Bayliner 245 SB Cruiser. Both are just under 25ft....24.5ft to be exact. Both boats weigh about 5,300 Lbs. My truck a 2006 Nissan Frontier Nismo is rated to tow just 6,500lbs max.
would a trailer put me over my towing limit?

Also, would it be a nightmare to try and launch a 24ft boat a a local boat ramp? it is very wide and long, 8ft deep minimum dredge.
thanks everyone.
I would not like the costs of using a marina, so maybe this boat is too big for my lifestyle right now

emoney

Commander
Re: 24ft cabin cruiser too big to tow or not?

I think that's way too big for that truck. The trailer will weigh over 1000lbs and you haven't put fuel and/or any gear in the boat. Pulling it won't be the big problem, it's stopping it and then trying to back it down a ramp. Search for "ramp mishaps" on Youtube and you'll see what I'm getting at.

mnypitboat

Lieutenant Junior Grade

That is a big boat for that truck. Like emoney said, you have to remember trailer weight, gas, gear. Then there is the extra people in your truck. Remember, people in your truck take away some from your overall capacity to stop that rig.

I have launched a 5000lb boat with a 1974 CJ5 on a very familiar ramp at the marina where I store my boat. I put it in low 4wd and it did fine. I had a 450hp V8 in it though and I would never have tried it at an unfamiliar ramp. At that point it is not the power or the brakes, but more the fact that the boat weighs more than the tow vehicle and can drag you right into the water. I wouldnt have dreamed of towing it anyplace though.

dingdongs

Chief Petty Officer