225 Evinrude gear shaft question

AntsGrady

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello all, quick question I'm hoping someone can answer. The lower unit has 2 shafts, 1 gear/throttle and 1 drive. This is kind of hard to put into words but here goes. The gear shaft comes down the motor and into the lower unit. At the bottom just before it goes into the lower unit it is encased in a foamy material. This is exterior and visible. My winter cover rope recently got caught up in there and took a little of this foam out as the rope was being pulled. It still looks pretty good but I don't know. I'm not a mechanic and don't know what the purpose of this is and don't know the impact if something is wrong. Can someone shed some light on this??? Thanks!!!

ob

Admiral
A bit hard to understand by your description but if I read it correctly I believe what you are refering to is the shift rod.There should be a rubber grommet that acts as a debris shield that is visible from the outside.If there is a foamy material present it must have been added by a previous owner.There is no part of the actual driveshaft that is visible externally.

AntsGrady

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 225 Evinrude gear shaft question

You're on the right track but I've always owned the motor so this is stock. I believe the grommet may be inside of this. I believe it is protection for the grommet but not sure. So if this has some wear and tear what would that do? Would this in some way cause problems to my lower unit? Does this make things a little clearer?

ob

Admiral