1991 Bayliner Capri 2050 Max speed 38 mph at 3300 rpm

malibu3105

Seaman
I just purchased a boat from a friend.
It runs ok, but is a little hard to start. I am new to having a boat, so maybe my expectations are wrong. I expect it to start like a car, just turn the key and it starts.
But I have to pump the throttle a few times, and give about 50% gas for it to start. Even warm.
I was letting it idle on the lake, and it seems to idle slow and then stopped running. So I had to restart.

My WOT was 38 mph at about 3300 rpm, maybe less rpm.
The boat shop says I should go to a 4 blade which I think I will do.
My question here, is what would my optimum rpm be? Or is 3300 correct for max rpm?
The boat planes well and I had a good time on the lake. Just seems like I need a tune up maybe :)
It has a 4.3L V6 Mercury, so I believe that is the 200hp engine.
Also, only had 1/2 tank of gas or less, with just me on the boat. No gear except my ice chest.

Thanks,
Frank

malibu3105

Seaman
Also, not part of my question, but does anyone know how large the gas tank is? I put in 20 gals and I think I was about 1/4 tank.

Bayou Dave

Lieutenant Commander
Also, not part of my question, but does anyone know how large the gas tank is? I put in 20 gals and I think I was about 1/4 tank.

In a 20 foot boat I would be surprised if the gas tank held more than 20 gallons. If your gauge only shows 1/4 then the gauge is not working properly.
BTW... Welcome to iboats!!:welcome:

tlombard

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Looks like you have a 37 gallon capacity from what I found with a quick search. That probably sounds about right. I just picked up a 2004 Caravelle 187 BR and that has a 30 gallon tank.

I would think that a tune up is in order as well. Maybe some adjustments to the carb or a rebuild. A previous boat of ours had a similar issue with not wanting to idle and that was the culprit.