1989 celebrity 19 SE......LOOKING AT BUYING

MountainManMyke

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello, I am looking at a 1989 celebrity 19 se with a 5.7 liter Mercruiser for 4 grand obo with a stainless prop . I live in Northern Canada and the boat is in Northern US. I am in the process of getting as much info from the owner and more pics. Anything I should look at or watch out for with these boats? How are they for power and top speed and overall weight? Just wondering, I am going to be in large and medium size lakes with it and want to make sure its what I am looking for. I am a mechanic by trade so I will be more picky then your average person. Just looking for info thanks guys

crabby captain john

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 1989 celebrity 19 SE......LOOKING AT BUYING

It is an OLD boat. Being a mechanic you be able to verify engine condition. Are you able to verify the condition of the floor, stringers, and transom? The weight stated when built could be a lot higher if wood and/or foam is waterlogged. I know prices are high in Canada but that sounds like a $1500 boat-- TOPS!

Last edited:

SWD

Petty Officer 1st Class

I have an 87' Celebrity 190 VB cuddy, The specs on the sales literature is around 2800# You seriously need to get a survey done or go down in person and check it out. I have a 305 and it will do around 45mph.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

Yeah, that boat is 24 yrs. old. Lots of time for neglect to happen and rot to spread.

If this is a 1 owner boat and has always been kept trailered and garaged it might be worth the asking price, but those kind of boat and owners are rare.