1977 StarCraft 18' SS restore

Decker83

Commander
Been reading the StarCraft Boats for a long time.. I finally broke down and bought one..
I have been restoring a 1983 deck boat for the last 3 years.. Now I am ready for the tinny..
Brought this boat home back in Nov. 2013 and it has just been sitting in the driveway until this year..
Here are some pics in the driveway.. 100_2746.jpg

100_2744.jpg 100_2747.jpg
100_2751.jpg

Attachments

• 100_2744.jpg
    100_2744.jpg
    118.4 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:

g0nef1sshn

Lieutenant
Its gonna be fun to follow along. Im not done with mine and Im already looking for the next bigger one thats making me think I should have done a pre-nup.

Decker83

Commander
Thanks g0nef1sshn.. Welcome aboard..:D

Well there is some good and bad with this one.. It has the white leg of death on the back..:eek: 100_2750.jpg

and a 140 hp omc 4 cylinder.. 100_2748.jpg

I am going to repower with a mercuriser 3.0 140 hp..
I have some more pics of the tear down.. 100_3220.jpg

100_3224.jpg

100_3225.jpg

Just tearing out the bad stuff.. No foam on this one..:cheer2:

Have a few more pics to come..

Last edited:

jbcurt00

Staff member
Whats the plan for plugging the hole left by the WLOD?

Decker83

Commander
Thanks jbcurt00..
Have a uncle that has a complete sheet metal shop.. I will have access to a tig welder. Going to do the opposite of what jasoutside did..
He put a large patch on the outside of the hull.. I will cut a piece to fit the hole and weld it, then put a larger piece of 1/4 or 3/16 5052 on the inside..
I don't plan on welding the lager piece to the transom.. I will use 3m 5200 to butter both the transom and the patch plate and use a countersink rivets
from the inside to hold in place.. I then plan to use a router to cut out the depth of the transom wood to match the plate..
Hope that makes sense..:lol:

I wanted to get some pics of how I removed the back deck over the engine but didn't have my camera with me..