1976 starcraft rivets

bubbasblazer

Seaman Apprentice
I am new to I boats and have been doing research on replacing leaky rivet on my '76 starcraft. I hope this is the right thread to post in. All my leaky rivets are where the keel is joined to the boat. I have looked at other threads and found very good info but I have a few questions. What are the originall rivets called that are installed factory? I have an air hammer and body dollies to install them, What is the proper air pressure to use when hammering them in? I have read references to 5200 sealant to put on the rivet before installation, Who makes it? And what should I look for to ensure the rivet is seated and properly installed? I have tried sealants some worked better than others but eventually failed with the exception of Gluvit and am tired of having wet feet I wanna do it right. I have saw good and bad about closed end rivets and dont wanna have them fail and redo the job. Any help would be appreciated. thanks

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1976 starcraft rivets

Welcome to the forum. I don't have an answer to your question but I moved this thread down here to the Starcraft section because that's where many of the tin boat guys hang out. Someone will hopefully come along with an answer. You've stumbled upon probably the largest collection of Starcraft enthusiasts on the internet!

Huron Angler

Admiral

Welcome to iboats Bubba, I used pop rivets with 3M 5200 to replace a few thru-hull keel rivets. They have held tight so far but time will tell.

I had a hard time finding closed rivets so I went this route. I have heard that Grainger or Fastenal has them but you have to order 500 minimum.:eek:

3M is the manufacturer of 5200 as mentioned above. I have no idea what pressure you'd use, I did mine with a hand tool. Maybe one of the other guys can help out more there.