1958 35 hp Bigtwin Runs, But Stopped Moving!

On my final run before winterizing: the motor started in one pull, idled nicely, and went into gear fine. As I was getting toward the end of the "No Wake" zone I noticed that the shift lever was popping out of forward gear but I held in gear for a second and it stayed. I made a few rounds in the cove there and it didn't do it again, so off we went. I slowed down to say something, and when I went to put back in gear it wouldn't engage. We were dead in the water.

We beached it and I tilted the motor up. With the motor off I put it into Forward and tried to turn the prop with my hand, it engaged (wouldn't move). Neutral - spun freely. Reverse - engaged again. I'm new to motors, and don't understand, how it could engage but not push the boat? I would think that whatever keeps it from moving when it is off would move it when its running.

Atleast I have all winter, and 2 parts motors to fix it...hopefully.

HybridMX6

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: 1958 35 hp Bigtwin Runs, But Stopped Moving!

Bad prop or broken shear pin? Did you check the prop is good and the hub is ok, also check the shear pin under the prop. I'm assuming from the vintage you are talking that it has a shear pin under the prop. I had an old 1971 20hp Johnson that just loved to eat those things up. I always carried several spares for times just like that.

jay_merrill

Vice Admiral

Sounds like a clutch dog gone south, to me.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner

(Jumping Out Of Gear - Manual Type)
(J. Reeves)

This pertains to lower units on all OMC manual shift outboard engines, or any OMC engine with lower units defined as a Shift Assist or a Hydro Electric Shift unit which incorporates a "Shifter Clutch Dog".