hydro e lower unit

ddaigle

Petty Officer 1st Class
I pulled my lower unit(hydroelectric)on my 3 cyl. johnson (1971-65hp?) as I had no forward gear, just reverse and nuetral. The solenoids and wiring check out fine as does the plunger. I found that if I lift on the drive shaft while turning the prop shaft will turn but you can stop it with your hand. Without lifting driveshaft i get a ratchety feeling when turning. I want to disassemble it but have no manual for this unknown motor. I have removed all the bolts but need help on removing the bearing carrier and driveshaft. Do i need a puller? I have a lot of tools and auto experience but don't want to wreck this unit. Any thoughts or info is appreciated.

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner
Re: hydro e lower unit

hello<br /> you will need a manual. get one. you will need a puller . some I can use an automotive harmonic balancer puller and 3/8ths all thread. the two holes if the carrier has them are 5/16ths from the factory and if they are not stripped you can try them first. usually they stip and ya have to tap it 3/8ths. then you will need a set of 12" tru-arc snap ring pliers. there are 2 and possibly 3 snap rings depending on your model. without looking at your unit its hard to say. they made a lot of changes in the 4 years they produced them.<br /> you will also need a drive shaft holding/turning tool so you can remove and retorque the pinion gear nut.<br /> good luck and keep posting but it may be best to allow a trained tech with the proper tools to deal with the unit.

alcan

Commander

If you don't have a manual because you can not determine the exact year of your motor, don't worry, just get an after market Clymer book at cover the year span that your motor falls into. this will serve most of your needs. Then if there are differences beyond that, we can probably help you with those.

ddaigle

Petty Officer 1st Class