Buying a new boat this spring

mrdrh99

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forrums. I will be buying an inflatable this spring (March hopefully) to fish and take the family out on a couple of local lakes, the main one down the street is about 10 acres and the larger is about 150. Originally I was planning on getting the 4 person Sevylor fish hunter, would have been perfect for myself and maybe one other person for fishing. However, my wife insisted that if I'm going to spend $500 on a boat I need to get one that I can take my family out on and enjoy so.... Together we decided on the Intex Excursion 5, almost entirely because of the space. I intend on building a floor for it (1/2 plywood and outdoor carpet) and building a battery box/storage bin/drivers seat on the back. However, I'm stuck on which motor and battery to use. For the money I cant find anything new that beats the $99 Minn Kota 30# but I've seen a few that went with the Sevylor 18# because of it being lightweight and using a smaller battery. I'm still leaning toward the MK but I dont know what size battery I need for it. Most of the time I probably wouldn't run the motor anymore that 2 hours per outting but when fishing the larger lake I dont know, maybe up to 4 or 5 hours. Anyhow, what do you guys think of the set up and battery? I would like to get something better than the Intex but $ wont really allow it, I may possibly be able to later purchase a small fish hunter just for myself but not right now. Any thought/comments would be appreciated!

mrdrh99

Re: Buying a new boat this spring