1985 Marlin Stringers??

00stang00

Recruit
Hi Everyone,

New here and hoping someone out there can help me.

I am a newbie boat owner who just purchased a 1985 Marlin open bow. Well I knew it had a few soft spots when I purchased it and figured no big deal I can fix that with some ply... ummmm... oooops! Knew nothing about stringers! SURPRISE!!!

So today I pulled the carpet to find someone had torn out the layer of fiber glass and all the original wood for the floor and replaced it with a bunch of cut up pieces of ply :(

So the plan now is to redo the deck/floor or at least the areas that need repair. I am not sure how far back I should remove as I don't know how many stringers are under there, any one have any idea? Again it a 1985 Marlin open bow.

In the open bow area where it was the worst, I pulled the ply and found only one center stringer that runs from the bow to the center of the boat, not all the way back because there is a storage compartment there. The 2x4 is badly rotted however the fiberglass around it is perfect. Now do I need to cut out the fiberglass and redo the entire stringer or is it possible to remove all the rotted wood and perhaps use a marine type foam to fill in where the 2x4 was? Remember I am a complete newbie boat owner so any help would be very helpful.

Thank You

v8George

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 1985 Marlin Stringers??

I am in the same boat, no pun intended. Started what was supposed to be a small repair on Saturday which in two days spiraled into a full-blown tear down. You need to ask yourself if you are ready physically, mentally and financially to follow through with the project.