pontoon prop?

tkdunn

Seaman
I have a 20 ft pontoon with a 112 evinrude spl. It currently has a solas 13.5x15 3 blade aluminum prop. When running wide open the engine revs. I'm new to boating and don't know the correct terminology. Is this prop correct for my boat? I haven't taken the boat out since november but I'll try to answer whatever questions are needed. Thanks. :redface:

tkdunn

Seaman
Re: pontoon prop?

I know in other posts people have asked about position of the prop in relation to the pontoons. So here is a picture of my motor when I was winterizing.

einrude112spl.jpg

tkdunn

Seaman

Sorry I missed that thread. I'm new to iboats.

1. The problem is probably ventilation. From about half throttle to full throttle their is no speed increase it just raises the rpms. The engine revs especially if there is choppy water.

2. Solas 3 blade aluminum. I don't know the model but OD 4809 is on the prop.

3. 13.5 x 15

4. I looked online for the maximum rpms for my motor and it's 4500-5500. After hitting around 4000 rpms there is no speed increase. I can get to around 20 mph.

5. 1996 Evinrude 112 SPL

6. 2002 Playcraft Sunfish 20' long. I'm unsure of weight. I don't have an owner's manual so I'm unsure of where to get this information. I'm not close to where the boat is stored and can't check the weight ratings. I believe it was rated for 8 people.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral

a few things come to mind...
1: motor height I suspect that as you get on plane your prop may be getting too close to the surface.... your antivent plate (flat fin over the prop should not get far from the water surface and I THINK on a toon it should stay just below the surface (other folks with more toon exp please correct if wrong) The fix would be a motor with a longer shaft.

2: spun hub in prop.... a paint marker can be used to make marks on the prop and prop nut so that it will be evident that the hub is slipping