Mercury prop slipping, right prop/parts? HELP!

sextondm

Seaman Apprentice
Hello all;
I have a 22' 1974 Starcraft Chieftain, Aluminum hull, I/O, 165 Merc/GM Inline 6 (250ci), Mercruiser drive, pre-Alpha, think model 165? Drive ser. #3647773.
Prop is a three blade 16" #48-16440-c1-16 stamped on the prop, new, 16" pitch. Hub kit I have is a Mercury Flo-Torq #835257A1. I googled the prop number and it came up as a black diamond alum. prop.
I just bought this boat, and put it in the water for the first time yesterday. I torqued the prop nut to about 45ft. lbs. As soon as we tried to leave the dock the prop was just spinning on the shaft. Worked at first, and then quit working before we could even get underway!
I took it all apart, and everything looks ok, but I'm wondering now if this is the right prop/hub kit? The prop and hub kit came with the boat, and I installed it all but this is my first time :)
Boat weighs around 2000lbs.
I know the drive is original to the boat, has the lifting eye on the top of the drive, so it's pre-Alpha one.
Thanks in advance for the help!!

David Sexton

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Mercury prop slipping, right prop/parts? HELP!

but I'm wondering now if this is the right prop/hub kit? The prop and hub kit came with the boat, and I installed it all but this is my first time

Ayuh,... Got a Picture of all the pieces,..??

There should be the thrust hub,...
The plastic insert,...
The bronze splined insert,...
The locking washer,...
And, the nut...

If ya got all those pieces installed, 'n it still don't turn, under power,...
I'd guess you've got a Drive problem...

sextondm

Seaman Apprentice

Yeah, I shoulda included those in the first post... probably would've helped! :)
So, in researching today, one thing I know for sure is that I am actually missing a piece from the Mercury 835257A1 kit, the black "delrin" piece that goes in the middle of all this. Pretty sure this is my problem...