Thoughts and opinions from the experienced boater out there on a Grady-White

ph70

Recruit
Hi all-

I'm new to this forum and would like to solicit the thoughts and opinions of those who surely know more than I do.

I'm considering purchasing my first boat- a 1994 Grady White 228 Seafarer. I've had two friends look at it (albeit they are both sailboat guys) and they both say that the hull, and all accessories look like they were well kept and very solid (no hull rot, water damage, etc). The boat is really quite clean, fuel tank looks good, gelcoat good, no major repairs, etc. Here's the downside- it's got a (1994, I presume) Johnson Ocean Runner 225 6 cylinder two stroke that doesn't run, and will most likely require a rebuild. I'm an accomplished m/c mechanic and m/c engine re-builder (two and four strokes) mostly roadracing machines, and racing dirtbikes. Although I have never worked on an outboard marine engine, I'm excited to tear it apart and get to it. That being said, my questions are these:

1) Is it worth it to do a rebuild on this engine? I presume that marine engines are pretty much like m/c engines- just bigger, and with different gearing/transmissions etc?

2) I can get the boat for as is for about $8,000 (US), which includes a decent trailer. Good deal, even with a non-running engine?

3) Boat has been used exclusively in salt water- anything I should look for in particular with the engine?

Any other thoughts/viewpoints opinions will also be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: Thoughts and opinions from the experienced boater out there on a Grady-White

Grady's are very good hulls and usually hold their value.