69 starcraft for newbie?

Donkalion

Cadet
I'm looking to buy/restore a boat im new to boating and i was wondering on how much money does it take for a restoration. I also found this boat would this be a good start?

restore 1.jpgrestore 2.jpgrestore 3.jpgrestore 4.jpg

Cal195

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 69 starcraft for newbie?

I am a first year boater....was given an older boat as a gift by a friend. One thing I do know is parts are not cheap. But I must say I am addicted to it....Love being out in the water....no place better. Good Luck and Have fun.

bananaboater

Ensign

Not an easy ? to answer. Some folks do it on a shoestring. But in any case it will be more than you plan! This SC looks to be a good start. Is the deck original? If so it might need replacement and the transom might need attention. If you have some mechanical and woodworking skills restoring a boat can be fun and challenging. Go for it.

boatnut74

Lieutenant Commander

Looks like a Super Sport. If you want to restore a boat for the first time it would be an excellent choice. Cost all depends on how you want to do it. Check out the Starcraft rebuilds to see whats all involved http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=494143
Starcrafts ae the best boats out there, but I may be a little biased :D

kfa4303

Banned

WOW!!!! They'll see you coming a mile a way in that one! I like it. Depending on how involved you want to get into a restoration, I think you'll find most folks end up spending between $1500-$2000 on a good, solid, basic resto which usually includes new transom, floor, paint and basic accessories. Of course, a boat is never truly finished and the sky is the limit as far as a budget goes. Take your time. Read a bunch of the Starcraft resto threads here in the forums and you should be well equipped to take on the job. If you're lucky, your floor and/or transom may be ok in which case you can save a few clams. Keep us posted. Good luck!

Donkalion

Cadet