Yamaha 40 running poorly

liebman

Cadet
Im new to Iboats, but could use some help. I have a 98 yamaha 40 that I have owned a few months. Out on the water the engine seems to start dying while going about 3000 rpms. Changed plugs, cleaned carbs, cleaned fuel pump, and changed primer bulb. Now engine starts fine (as usual) and runs for about 30 seconds and cuts off. Starts right back up and runs about the same and cuts off. Plugs look a little damp, but not saturated. I do notice that it seems to me to have a good bit of smoke, maybe normal though. If anyone has any ideas, will be glad to get the info, thanks

robert graham

Admiral
Re: Yamaha 40 running poorly

May have a bad fuel pump diaphragm causing raw fuel to get sucked into that cylinder causing very rich mixture, wet-fouling plug. Remove pump from motor, leave lines hooked up, sqeeze primer, check for fuel coming out back of pump. New pump is $50, very easy 2 screw replacement. In fact, I replaced mine this year just because it was 12 years old...now I have a spare! Good luck and let us know what you find!:)

liebman

Cadet

Thanks, I went and checked that and there is no fuel leaking out the back side, is leaking a little around the gasket but I think that is where I took the two mounting bolts out. It was not leaking there before. I have had this fuel pump apart before and the diaphram looks free of holes but is a little stiff.

robert graham

Admiral