sponsons?

birddog2

Recruit
i have a boat that is rated for a forty horse engine and i have a fifty on it rear of boat sits very low in the water and i cant get it to plane out im new to boating and have had some people tell me that sponsons will help is there any truth to this

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: sponsons?

Howdy, birddog.

Welcome to iboats. :)

If you have a boat that is 25% overpowered that won't plane you have a real problem. Sponsons would do you no good.

First of all, overpowering is a very bad idea. Consider going to a 40HP that is not sick.

Your boat is probably badly waterlogged and your 50HP engine might be better used as an anchor.

Tell us exactly what boat you have and exactly what engine. One or both need some extensive work.

Borgey401

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I would think even if the boat is waterlogged a 50 should get it on plane no? Considering it is overpowered and everything. Hopefully you're motor is just not running to it's full potential and you can fix it easily. If you're boat is indeed waterlogged, you're in for some good ol fun :)

H20Rat

Vice Admiral

Don't assume it is necessarily overpowered just by the HP numbers... lets say its 1985 boat with a rating that is meant for prop HP. Now lets assume he stuck an old (1970's) merc classic 50 on it. That 50 hp engine doesn't put anywhere close to 50 at the prop when new, as the classic 50's were actually 45 at the flywheel., and it certainly doesn't put out 45 hp after 30 years.

In other words, if you use the non-common sense answer, a modern 40 hp 4 stroke would be fine, but an old 50 hp, (lighter and less power), is dangerous?

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

This fantasy that pre-'85 outboard HP is somehow bogus has been around a long time. So has the notion that outboards automatically lose power as they age.

Both are wrong and are just yabuts for doing something you shouldn't do.