New member looking for guidance on a Islander type boat.

giantloop

Cadet
So since I was a kid I have wanted what I would call a Starcraft Islander. Some background on myself, I am a mechanic that has a fair amount of boat repairs under my belt and I have even done two transoms in the past so I have enough experience to get myself in trouble. I want a boat to make some trips on the Missouri river, some local overnights and dare I say the Great Loop at some point. Yes, lots of water and a little boat (http://www.greatloop.org/). Now I am at the point I can start to put together what I want the question is what boat model do I want? I am thinking 22 ft but don?t really have a rule made. Inboard or outboard both make since for what I am doing. I just have to have a little room with a space to get out of the weather you know. The final deal is the boat price. I am thinking 5 or 6 thousand to get the boat and trailer. What do you think as far as model of boat, cost to get it and whatever else comes to mind? Much thanks Guys and Gals?...:)

grzzzz

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: New member looking for guidance on a Islander type boat.

Think you're on the right track. An Islander is exactly what I would pic. I am partial to I/O. You won't get the same concurrence on this blog. Seems to be a lot of "motor hangers" on this site. I too have experience on automotive engines and let me tell you, when you throw back that engine box, it looks a lot more familiar than when you pull off the outboard cover. You should be able to get a nice one on that budget. Look up in the Michigan area on craigs list. Economy is really taken it's toll up there. It could be worth the drive.

Grzzzz

CheapboatKev

Vice Admiral

Personally
That Islander would get real small real fast and real uncomfortable on a loop trip!
Plus a 100 on the above "looking familiar" when you lift the doghouse off..Things are where they should be..lol.
BUT