93 Mercruiser 5.7 - No Power Under Load

MstGT1

Cadet
Hello all, I am new to the forum, and would first like to thank everyone for the valuable information you provide through this forum. I have tried to solve my problem through reading current threads, but even after trying many things I have read here I am still having no luck, so I thought I might start a new thread and maybe get some more specific advice.

I have a 93 Maxum 22' Cuddy with a 5.7 Mercruiser Alpha Drive and Carb. The main problem is that when under load I have no power (runs and revs just fine on the hose or in nuetral while in the water). I can ease up to speed most of the time, but I am still not getting up to the speed I use to be able to before this issue started. My father was a mechanic by trade before passing in 2007 so I am somewhat mechanically inclined, but there is certainly a point in which I am better off leaving it to the pro's.

At first I thought spark, so I replaced the plugs, wires, coil, coil wire, cap, rotor, and module in distributor. No change. I did not replace the Thunderbold ignition on the back of the dist. because I was told that it either works or doesnt so if I have spartk at all it is fine. I then decided to rebuild the carb. The carb looked to have never been apart, was full of dirt, and the floats looked way out of adjustment (one lower than the other). I thought this has to be the problem. I soaked the carb in carb cleaner for two days with all parts out of it. Put it back together and tried it this past weekend. Well it seemed slightly better at first, but then quickly started the problem as if I never touched anything. At this point I am stumped. I have tried to take it to the local marina's but they are all backed up for 5-6 weeks. The only things I can think of to do is adjust the floats up a little (maybe it is still starving for fuel??), and do a compression check. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Tony

ziggy

Admiral