Need to know which prop is best for my new (to me) boat.

Chris' Craft

Cadet
I purchased a '95 Chris Craft Concept 20 yesterday that needs a new prop. since i have no previouse experience with this boat, i have no idea whether the current prop which is dinged, works well or not. after looking at options, im thinking i want an alluminum. this boat has the OMC 4.3L, its 20ft long and the previous owner stated it weighed in at around 2900 lbs. i will do very little skiing, wake boarding, etc, but will have 3-6 ppl on the boat at most times and will most likely pull a tube most of the time. this tells me i wont need a strong holeshot but dont want to totally lose it. im sure i will most likely cruise around 30-35 but would like to run up to 45-50 on occasion. im thinking handling will be most important to me. can you guys please help steer me in the right direction as to brand, hub needs, pitch and diameter?

Robbabob

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Need to know which prop is best for my new (to me) boat.

Hi "Chris' Craft", welcome to the best boating forum I know of!

Sounds like you haven't had her on the water yet.... since all boats behave differently with various setups of engine/prop/gears/load(distribution), we can hardly give you input on where to start. However, this link to a sticky at the top of the page will help: http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=287818

Your best bet maybe to get your current boat wet, run some tests and post pictures of the current "dinged" prop. Your details and pictures will help us help you.

That many people and pulling a tube is similar to the set up you'd have when skiing or wake boarding; you do want a strong hole shot to get up quicker on plane.

Good luck!

btw: Need help please!!!! is not a good title to give a thread, next time, briefly state what the question or problem is.

Chris' Craft

Cadet