Merc 165 ignition Wire problem. Please help.

etherealstorm

Recruit
I just picked up an old 1975 Bayliner with a Mercruiser 165 inline 6. Engine turns over, but I have no spark. Then I found a couple of wires from the ignition coil have been cut, and I have no idea where they go. I have a shop manual, but the schematic shows wires going to a shift interlock switch. I'm a newbie. What is that? doesn't help that the manual is showing different colered wires than those that are actually on my craft.
If anyone has any images of the wiring for this engine, or could take a picture of thier 165 for me. I would love the help.
Thank you in advance.mercrus

86 century

Ensign
Re: Merc 165 ignition Wire problem. Please help.

There should be three wires connected to the coil. Switched power to the pos; lead form points and shift interrupter on the neg side.

I have seen two or three different colors for the switched hot. The lead from the points will be black. lead from shift interrupter should be gray.

The shift interrupter is a switch activated by you shift cable to momentarily stall the eng so the drive will shift easier.

Hope this helps
Good Luck

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

There should be three wires connected to the coil.

On a 75 mercruiser 165, there are actually 5 wires going to the coil, not counting the center high voltage lead.
See the picture below.
On the positive side, you have the resistor wire and the tan wire going to the starter.
On the negative side, you have 3 brown wires, one to the shift interrupt switch, one to the tachometer, and one to the distributor.
The gray wire was not used on the 165 l6 engine and was for the tachometer on the ones it was used on.

Attachments

• coil.jpg
    coil.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 19

etherealstorm

Recruit