pen yann swift

:confused: I have what looks to be an early 70's model penn yan swift. I dont know for sure this is a swift is there anyway of finding out? the hull is in rough condition and Im new at this. Not sure where to begin any suggestions?

maybe early 70"s penn yan boat

maybe early 70"s penn yan boat

:confused:I have a Penn Yan boat it looks to be a swift. The hull is fiberglass in rough shape would like to restore it back original as possible. How would I go about finding the model or year of the boat? I am new at this.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
Re: pen yann swift

Swifts are 1950's not 1970's. Get the serial number and take a picture, then google the Penn Yan Boat Owners Club and ask the question over there. Post the pic here and I can tell you if its a swift as well.

If all else fails send me a PM and I'll put you in touch with a Swift collector in Byron, NY.

sasto

Captain

hmmmm...fiberglass? probably 70's

Upper starboard transom....just below the rubrail has a code . What is it?

Or follow JimS.. as I am a member at the forum mentioned. I recently recieved an old Penn Yan and learned alot about their heritage, advertising, claims,....very interesting.

Good Luck, onaboat

PS: are ya really onaboat now? :cool:

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: maybe early 70"s penn yan boat

Welcome to iboats

Penn Yan had questionable construction methods and usually require a TON of work and TONS of money to restore them. You will never recoup anything near what you spend. Just be VERY positive you want to restore that boat.

sasto

Captain

rooster.jpg
Welcome to iboats

Penn Yan had questionable construction methods and usually require a TON of work and TONS of money to restore them. You will never recoup anything near what you spend. Just be VERY positive you want to restore that boat.