fish from bowrider?

pat8839

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hey guys,
I am new to the boating scene-I recently purchased a 2006 Bayliner 195 bowrider. I love to fish and was wondering how many of you guys fish off of these type boats.
Do you use a trolling motor?
Thanks!

blifsey

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: fish from bowrider?

I've run across some nice projects of folks installing TM and casting decks on bowriders. If I have links on home PC, I'll try to get them to you.

I looked at doing similar but decided to trade boats to a more "fishy" boat instead and bought a bay boat. We also wanted to start taking boat to coastal GA and I figured with raw water cooling and painted steel trailer taking our Glastron GX205 would've meant a quick death for manifolds and trailer.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

Pat, I have fished for years off my BR, in the bay and ocean. I find it works very well.

We do not use trolling motors, since they would ineffective in the oceran, and marginal in the bay.

sasto

Captain

The Admiral and I caught 3 Tarpon over 30# last weekend onboard a 2 year old 23' Chaparral loaded with upholstery. :) Once trolled with a 43' Black Thunder go fast. Neither had a rod holder. I figure as long as I can land a fish on the stern of any vessel....I will fish off it....if allowed. Enjoy!

What kind of fishin 'ya gonna be doin' ?

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

Earlier this month, 2 sailors on the back of a destroyer (docked) caught 6 keeper stripers, from the deck 30' above the water. Moral: You can fish from anything!

But the down-side of many bowriders is that the "cockpit" area is crowded already, with no room for a fish box and a bait cooler, rods and tackle, net plus other gear. But you can work around it. Just don't take as many people as you might for just riding around.