70hp johnson problems NEW CARNAGE PICS

dmoriarty51

Petty Officer 1st Class
hello guys, im new to outboards but am mechanically inclined and understand troubleshooting, that being said i have a 70hp johnson, its a 94 or 95 cant find the model number or serial but thats another post.

i am having trouble with it dieing and almost acting as if its siezing.

first time up at the end of the day after 4-5 hours of on off use. it goes from full song 5500rpm and winds down to dead in a matter of a few seconds after 5-10 min of running, when i say acts like it siezes i mean the first couple times i hit the key to restart it just clicks and wont rollover. a few seconds (less than a minute) and it started right up and ran my another mile to the dock idled through the no wake zone fine then wouldnt idle at the dock

i changed plugs and fuel filter all very worn and filthy. perform compression check and see between 120-130 across board. run on hose for 30 mins at idle and up to about 3000rpm, didnt know if i should really rev it up or not. during this i used a timing light to check spark and observe it on all 3 cyl

hit the river again, and less than 5 minutes later we are winding to a stop just as before. quite a bit harder to get refired this time, also noticed possible fuel leak/air suck on the fuel hose to quick connect and tighten clamp. then fires up and runs about 10mins or so and begins winding down again, this time is sounds ragged (ticking/tapping not a straight hard knock), and probably missing has shake to support missing, we pointed ourselves to the nearest ramp and called someone to bring us the truck and proceeded to run at plowing speed of maybe 2-2500rpm

through all this i get no warning buzzers bells or whistles. it appears to be using oil from the remote res. the level looks to have dropped some since i filled it when i got the boat 3 weeks ago, and i observed some blueish smoke while running the muffs in the driveway.