NEED HELP 1994 OMC 7.4 King Cobra

Status
Not open for further replies.

expertrm

Recruit
I bought a nice 1994 Chris Craft 23ft Bow Rider with a 7.4 OMC KING COBRA. I did not do my research on it and have found out it is a bastard child. Well I hit a rock out in the gulf and need to repair the outdrive and engine coupler. I really dont want to repair the outdrive since it is a bastard and would like to convert it to a volvo or mercruiser since the parts are available for them. I am a pretty good automotive mechanic but have never tackled a boat but I do have access to a fork lift to remove the engine.

Couple Questions:
Can I convert the outdrive to a volvo or mercruiser?
Will I have to change out the gimble housing?
What is the estimate of the parts?
Do you think it is worth it?

I may just sell the boat and parts but am really stuck right now trying to figure this out.

I am new to boating and have researched this forum and have to say this is one of the best forums out there and thank the experts on here with helping guys like me.

Thanks for all the help.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: NEED HELP 1994 OMC 7.4 King Cobra

If, and this is the determining factor, you have a dog clutch King Cobra, you could convert it to a Volvo SX or DPS style outdrive, HERE is a file with pictures on how I did a couple of them.
However, that was some time ago, I wouldn't recommend anyone do this any more for the simple fact that things like engine couplers, and exhaust manifolds and risers are NLA for the 460. Trust me, you spin a coupler out and you won't be going anywhere.

Bondo

Staff member

However, that was some time ago, I wouldn't recommend anyone do this any more for the simple fact that things like engine couplers, and exhaust manifolds and risers are NLA for the 460. Trust me, you spin a coupler out and you won't be going anywhere.

Ayuh,... He says he's got the 7.4l, 454cid Chevy, Not the 7.5l, 460 Ford...
Soooo,... It's still a viable swap....