74 20hp Johnson

bmflyfish

Cadet
"I have a 20 hp Johnson outboard-tiller. It's a 1974, w/ starter. I put on 2 new coils, spark plugs, new stainless, new water pump. It ran great...for about a minute. My buddy didn't put the water pump in correctly. It got hot and scored the pistons. I took it to a mechanic and he offered me $100 for it or $900 to fix it. Ouch! I'm not a mechanic but if you're handy you should be able to fix it for about $500 bucks. It's in really great shape. I kept it around to try and take a crack at it. I just don't have the time."

I found the following craigslist add and I was wanting an opinion on whether or not this could be worth following up on. I would be the one who would do the the rebuild. Doing a rebuild with a manual be worth it? As a side note I have never rebuilt an outboard, only 4.0 Jeep motors. Since I am ignorance on rebuilding an outboard, my thinking of could be way off base. Thanks for all the insights!

Thanks Brian

CaptainHook

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 74 20hp Johnson

Give it a shot. If you have built motors before you can do that one!!! Go pick up a service manual and get started!!! They are not hard to work on!!!

bmflyfish

Cadet

"I have a 20 hp Johnson outboard-tiller. It's a 1974, w/ starter. I put on 2 new coils, spark plugs, new stainless, new water pump. It ran great...for about a minute. My buddy didn't put the water pump in correctly. It got hot and scored the pistons. I took it to a mechanic and he offered me $100 for it or $900 to fix it. Ouch! I'm not a mechanic but if you're handy you should be able to fix it for about $500 bucks. It's in really great shape. I kept it around to try and take a crack at it. I just don't have the time."