Buying a 1987 motor. age a big deal?

NYGiants

Chief Petty Officer
im in the market for a used outboard and have come across a 1987 20hp evinrude. i had posted a want ad and the guy said he wanted $500. pull start and manual steer
I've only used some newer outboards which we purchased new (1993). now my dad used to buy outboards from his o/b repair guy all the time and had tons of headaches and that's why he bought a new one in 1993. he thinks buying something that old with just give us headaches.
im a little bit wary of something that old. I know i should check compression before buying but what else? and assuming i do buy it what are some other things i can do other then sea foam. i have limited knowledge with outboards.
any advice with be appreciated

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: Buying a 1987 motor. age a big deal?

Old motors can be in good shape or bad shape, just like newer motors. The only inherent disadvantage of old motors is availability of parts and knowledgable mechanics who will work on them. That particular motor is 22 years old. It is likely that a lot of parts that are not usually replaced are no longer available. I also think the price is twice what it should be.

It doesn't sound like you plan to do your own maintenance or repairs. If so, I would pass on it, and get something in the late 90s. At least parts will be available and the mechanics may be interested in working on it.

NYGiants

Chief Petty Officer

i would like to do my own work, and with a shop manual im pretty sure i can do some of the maintence such as the impeller, i havent really had much experience as im only 18, but im relatively mechanically inclined.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

NYGiants

Chief Petty Officer

all right thanks a lot guys. not sure if im going to buy it but ill definitely think about it.