Recommendations for a Jumpbox?

mhensley

Cadet
I recently purchased a Monterey 180 F/S which only comes with 1 battery. I'd like to hear recommendations for a jumpbox (battery charger) that I can take along with us when we go out...Any experience using these? Any good recommendations? I'd like to not "break the bank" when purchasing one since i'll only be carrying/using it in case of emergencies. I'm assuming they have kinds which I can charge at home, and bring along in a duffle bag on the boat and "jump" the battery should that become necessary. Thanks!

rbh

Fleet Admiral
Re: Recommendations for a Jumpbox?

Do you have room for a second battery?

mhensley

Cadet

I would assume so, (I've got the sundeck seating which has a lot of storage underneath...but then because I'm new to boating I would assume I'd have to pay someone to install a 2nd battery, including a switch, etc..this is only an 18' boat and will be for Lake boating only, so I"m not sure if i REALLY need a 2nd battery..perhaps I should..

stylesabu

Master Chief Petty Officer

costco has one that i purchased last fall its about 70.00. its great I had a bad battery in may car that i have jump 8-10 times and still haven't recharged unit. come spring it will go with me on the boat. i'll post name and model later. i'll even get you a picture. stay away from small black and decker type,had one it was usless. most auto parts store carry them but they're over a $100.00. I have had many types over the years, i was an auto tech. this is the best for the buck that i have found

642mx

Lieutenant Commander

I have a Diehard jump box from Sears. Its got a light, compressor, 2 - 12V outlets, and 2 - 110 AC plug ins. Oh.... and it will jump a dead battery.

I use it to blow up car tires, inflatables, power the 12V blender, etc, etc...

arks

Lieutenant Commander

A second battery is nice to have but for a day boat it might not be cost effective.