What a PIA docking a boat in a strong current!!

Polar_Bus

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Myself and my kids went out today for a wonderful afternoon out on the boat. Usually I trailer my boat, but a boating friend offered his vacant slip for the week while i'm on vacation, and my buddy is getting a blown head gasket repaired on his boat. I'm fairly new to boating, but thus far have had a consistant, and stress free learning curve, UNTIL ATTEMPTING TO DOCK A BOAT IN A STRONG ADJACENT CURRENT!!! Give me some credit I tried like 4 times bow in stern in, left side of dock right side of dock..... and the problem was the current kept pitching my boat sideways. I tried to let the tide creep me near the dock so my son could jump off and secure a line. Luckily another friendly boater saw me struggeling and just told me get the boat close, and he will pull me in. The boater commented, I was faced with a strong challenging current. He was so friendly and gave me a few tips about how to "just get the stern close to the dock, and jump, secure a line, and then just manually pull the boat in. I felt like such a dumb*****, as I actually almost bumped another boat on one of my futile attempts, but my quick thinking son kept the boats from bumping. So to the friendly boater who assisted me docking at Larry's Marina THANK YOU!

Rich

Mischief Managed

Lieutenant Commander
Re: What a PIA docking a boat in a strong current!!

I find that pointing the bow directly into the current and taking the boat in and out of gear with the wheel in different positions (to move the stern left and right as needed) can make docking with current easier than without. Using this technique, you make the boat move sideways. Another option is a spring line. I use them all the time in windy situtations or tight quarters.

PowerAddict

Chief Petty Officer