does any one tie the rear down when trailering?

J JACKSON

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am new to pontoon boating and was wondering if I needed to tie the rear of my boat down when trailering it like I had to on my V hull

mike243

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: does any one tie the rear down when trailering?

yes tie the back down,you would be suprised how much a boat or other stuff jumps around on a trailer when you hit a bump,no need to take a chance of denting a tube or worse,mike243

Jeff-in-PA

Chief Petty Officer

Yes, it's very important to do so. If you were to have a winch strap failure it would help keep the boat on the trailer. It will also help the boat stay in place if you have to do any evasive manuvers on the highway.

Jeff

HammondTiger

Cadet

Every time I put it on the trailer I tie it down in the back and front along with the winch. It only takes a couple of tension straps and about 2 mins to have that peace of mind.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

Gravity only works to a certain degree. As mentioned, in an emergency manuever, gravity may not hold the boat on the trailer and it can flipped off the trailer and be dragged. It would take about a 100 foot skid to burn a hole in a pontoon -- provided it didn't get wiped out along with another vehicle when they collided. By all means, tie down both ends. The winch strap nor the winch is enough to keep a boat (any boat) on a trailer in an emergency.

donnyskz1

Petty Officer 2nd Class

my boat never leaves my driveway without the strap on it. you never know when you might have to stop quick or hit some really bad pot holes

SoulWinner

Commander